Psalms Of My Native Tongue

Psalm 1
Den na me fa menye way3, You who strengthen my shaky heart
Me da w’ase.

I chant your name not when am stressed only
I chant your name when am blessed… Oh holy

Mogya kronkron a wo hwea guu Asaase so am ma y3 odehye
I dine not with kings of the world but with the king of the world

Ayeye dwom ahye makoma mu ma, bue maa no na m’nto be menye wa ye
I will sing praises unto your name

From ages
There have being the existence of pages
Pages about you
Tete atenpong Nyame

Se nka me wo tekyerema apem a
Okwedeampon kokroko
I will call you with different tongues

So the man from France will say “mon dieu!” oh God
The man from Spain will say “gracias a Dios!” thank you God
I will say “oh me Nyaame tumfo m’ada wa se” oh my Great God I thank you

I have tried the “abosom” but they failed
What you did for Sarah was even small
I still ask you for more

Psalm 2
Se Onyame nsi dan no a odansifo no ye kwa
My strength deceived me and leads me to doom
Every night dreams full of nightmares
But you wiped my mess
Den na men fa me n’dawase

Trying to appease the gods to the fullest
They never hesitated to punish me to the fullest
Let’s not talk about the sores, boils and the Somalia hunger

Onyame aye m’abisade amame, w’angyi me sika
)domankoma
you never get angry about what I sacrificed
With this how can I forget the way you were crucified?

Atease fo mo ma yen ka se Onyame ye de
Onyame de anwensem ahye ma funo mu ma
Na me ka bi ma hye no enimonhyam

-Dedicated to Esther Welbeck

One thought on “Psalms Of My Native Tongue

  1. allegory literary device A figurative work in which a surface narrative carries a secondary, symbolic or metaphorical meaning; may be poetry or prose. The Faerie Queene by Edmund Spenser
    alliteration poetic term The repetition of consonant sounds, especially at the beginning of words. “Peter piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.”
    allusion literary device A brief reference to a person, place, event, quote, or literary work assumed to be recognized by the reader. An allusion is used to associate the work in which it appears with an event or work from the past. The title of Faulkner’s novel The Sound and the Fury is an allusion to a line from Shakespeare’s Macbeth .
    anachronism literary device The representation of something or someone that is not in its correct historical or chronological time. See parachronism, prochronism, prolepsis. In Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar , Cassius says, “The clock hath stricken three.” Because there were no clocks that strike the hourin Roman times, this is an anachronism.
    anagram literary term
    A word, phrase, or sentence formedfrom another by rearranging its letters.
    Anagrams is a game in which the players build words by transposing and, often, adding letters. The game’s name was inspried by its linguistic meaning, not the other way around.
    Angel is an anagram of glean .
    anapest poetic term A foot of verse having three syllables, the first and second unstressed and the third stressed. “You are old,” said the youth, “and your jaws are too weak..” from thepoem You are old, Father William by Lewis Carroll
    antagonist literary term The character, force, or collection of forces in fiction or drama that opposes the protagonist and gives rise to the conflict of the story. In the original Star Wars film, the protagonist, Luke Skywalker, was opposed by the antagonist, Darth Vader.

Leave a Reply

