The Heavy Message

What am I hearing?
I can never be the linguist of this message
I can never be the musician to sing this tune
This tune of sorrows
This tune on the ticket of death

What am I hearing?
I am hearing the flute player
The flute player playing
He plays to give solace
He plays to collect our tears

What am I hearing?
Is it true that the beautiful souls are on errand? 
You told me they will be back soon
So I ask
What are they going to deliver or what are they going to collect

What am I hearing?
Is it true that I will see my sister not again?
Is it true that I will see my daughter not again?
Is it true that I will see you only in the world of our ancestors?
Then I will miss you.

What am I hearing?
If what am hearing is true
Then I bring my tears in “Abusua kuruwa”
To quench your thirst
Your throat is dry like pots on the desert 

What am I hearing?
If what am hearing is true
Then I give you an esky
Then I leave you with clean cloth to wipe your acidic tears
Then I leave you with money to pay your way to the spirit world

What am I hearing?
If what am hearing is true
Then mother cannot stop to sob and father cannot stop either
Friends cannot control their tears
I am hearing the rhythm of death

Now I am seeing the foot prints of death
Two foot prints I see
One maps to the house of Akosua
“Akosua, wafro owu dua na wontumi nsi”
Akosua, you have climb tree of death but you cannot climb down

Now I am seeing the foot print of death
Two foot prints I see
One leads to the house Lordina 
Death robs the house of their precious life
“Damirifa due”

Now I leave the quite grounds swollen eyes
I leave the quite yards by placing Barbados on your peaceful slice
Now you can rest
Now you can sleep forever
We will surely meet again

No matter how noisy I cry
I cannot go with you
I will leave you here
Go well for I will cease tears to make your journey not stressful
Sleep well, dear, sleep well, daughter, sleep well, dear friend.   

Leave a Reply

