If I Should Be A Father

If I should be a father

My baby will call me daddy

Or will mistake daddy for mummy

For I will be more than a Daddy

 

If I have money or no money,

I will tell him we need not many before we can give wholeheartedly

I will lure him to sleep with the stories legends

Under the moon where fire flies free from the flaming fire
I will tell him the story of how the termite become destructive

So when he grows up he will be more active and constructive

I will tell him the story of the frog

And how he lives both on land in the water

 

If I should be a father

I will tell my boy some life secrets

Secrets like the taste of wine and the love of a woman are all sweet but last for only season

Secrets like why the morning sun last not for the whole day but fades for a reason

If I should be a father

 

If I should be a father

I will stand my boy on my shoulders

We will climb Kilimanjaro

Telling him to see how torn Africa is

Telling him how strong it was before our inner hue was bleached

 

If I should be a father

I will buy my black boy a black puppy

And when he asks, “Daddy why this black puppy?”

I will say “Black is beautiful so do not change your color O my boy”

If I should be a father

The umbilical cord of my boy

Will be planted in the fields of Kontonkye

Mampong Kontonkye so he will never forget his roots

 

If I should be a father

Riddles will be inscribed on the tongue of my son

Telling him of his ancestors

Telling him they were and are somehow his protectors

 

If I should be a father

I will tell my boy to travel

Continent to continent

I will tell him to fall in trouble

Clean up your mess yourself

Fall in love

Let it go if it shines like a rotten wood

Hold on tight if it is true like the rainbow

If I should be a father

I will tell my boy to make friends

Friends who will rub his shoulders and say “there is hope

Friends who will say words which will make a suicidal rope fall for hope

Friends who will paint him in his mind laughing when broke

Friends who will nod their heads when he says something great and say “Wow its dope

Those are the friends I will tell him to make

 

If I should be a father

I will tell my boy to make enemies

Make friends out of them for this will strengthen your mental muscles

 

If I should be a father

I will build my boy an educational life

If empires deny us

2 thoughts on “If I Should Be A Father

Leave a Reply

