HER KIND IS A RARITY

image

This is to my biological mother”

who carried me in her womb for nine long
months with pains, aches and depressions.
The depression were so much for the depressant
And the pains inflicted unto you by my pregnancy,
were also too much for the killer of pains to kill.

You painfully endured all the headaches, dizziness
And giddiness, endured all the constant vomiting
and those weird behaviors my pregnancy bequeathed
Unto you.

You shed tears, did all the pushes and endured all the pains
During my delivery with the hope that there is a gain at the
End of the pain.

And when I came, you breasted me with the milk of life,
Held me with care because I was fragile and frail, and you
Protected and projected me like a Prince.

I grimed you with vomit, urine and feces
I gave you ulcers with my late night cries
I throbbed your heart and mind with sickness
Yet you devoted all your time and energy to
Secure my life and that of my unborn
Children-your grandchildren.

I ignorantly tried to pay back all the pains, anxieties
And sleepless night I bequeathed unto you with
Cedis and Pesewas, but I met Mr. Price who told
Me not even pounds and cents could pay for those troubles
Because they are priceless so, I should always show you L O V E.

This is to my step mother”

Who hustle and bustle to see me glow like a star
Without a scar since infancy.
In this era of cedis and pesewas,
Her kind is a rarity.

She fed her children with only lime, but fed
Me with both lime, and honey.
In this era of cedis and pesewas,
Her kind is a rarity.

Her heart throb when I fall sick or when
I’m in trouble and she doesn’t mind spending all
Her resources just to make sure I’m okay,
And just to make sure I secure a better future.
In this era of cedis and pesewas,
Her kind is a rarity.

You can call her Tani-bucci, not because she is
Doro-bucci, who is a cheerful giver, but because
She is the inventor of sharing and giving.
You can call her Miss Caring, not because
She is too caring, but because she is the
Mother of the motherless.
In this era of cedis and pesewas,
Her kind is a rarity.

Who in this era of cedis and pesewas would
Take absolute good care of her step-children even at
The expense of her own biological children?
Her kind is a rarity.

Who in this era of cedis and pesewas
Where everybody is trying to play smart
By outpacing one another, initiate a marriage
Between her husband and two other women
And live happily with them like they are triplets?
Her kind is a rarity.

It’s very seldom to meet a step Mother
In this era of cedis and pesewas
With a heart as pure as gold.
Her kind is a rarity.

Though she’s growing older, but I pray she
Saves her last breath to enjoy the fruit of her labor,
I pray for her, long life and a never-ending happiness.

Happy Mother’s day to the two most amazing
Mothers on the planet, Amina Moro and Hajia Tani Moro
From Bagulube Moro Salifu,
A student at G. I. J.

Leave a Reply

